Introduction: Oriol Gutierrez

Icterus-galbula-002Let’s get two things straight: My first name is pronounced like the bird from the baseball team the Baltimore Orioles (not like the Oreo cookie), but I spell it without an “e” at the end. My parents are from Cuba, but I was born and raised in New York City. I’m glad we got that over with…

My professional life has been kind of eclectic: from editing The Complete Dog Book for Kids to associate editor of the AKC Gazette; from business director of publications for the ASPCA to executive editor of Pet Business; from editor at large for LGNY (now known as Gay City News) to editor in chief of LGNY Latino (now defunct); from managing editor of DiversityInc to deputy editor of POZ.

My personal life has been sort of ordinary (for an almost 40-year-old gay Latino from New York City who also happens to be a former Marine), except for being diagnosed with HIV in 1992 at the age of 22. I’m unfortunately far from being the only HIV-positive person on the planet, but the virus has added yet another layer of difference between me and most of society.

At this point in my journey, I have the privilege of being able to combine the professional and the personal. In September 2008, I started writing Oriol’s POZ Blog about my experiences with HIV. In the October 2008 issue of POZ magazine, I wrote an article titled “Coming Out Again” about how I came out to my family in 1996 as being gay and not again to them until 2008 as being HIV positive.

After all of the above, I suppose it’s obvious that my interest in fair and accurate coverage of LGBT issues also includes issues related to HIV/AIDS, people of color and Spanish-language media. Blog tips are welcome!

14 Responses

  1. Hi oriol, it george from circles I’ve been reading your pieces on so many heartfelt issues. Its amazing how every article that I read has brought out so much emotion. At 43yo there is still much I learn even as a gay man. Your doing a graet job at raising awareness and opening our minds. Keep up the great work .You are the sun that lights the earth !!! George

  2. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after looking at some of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking
    it and checking back frequently!

  3. Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this website daily, this web page is truly pleasant
    and the users are really sharing nice thoughts.

  4. If you are going for finest contents like I do, just pay a visit this web
    page daily for the reason that it presents feature contents, thanks

  5. Good post. I certainly appreciate this site. Continue the good work!

  6. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody?
    This post posted at this web site is actually good.

  7. Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?

    A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog jump out.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Many thanks

  8. Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community
    in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work
    on. You have done a outstanding job!

  9. Thanks in sujpport of sharing such a nice idea, post is nice, thats why i have
    read it fully

  10. Excellent post. Keep writing such kind of info on your
    blog. Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You have done a fantastic job. I will certainly digg
    it and in my view recommend to my friends.
    I am confident they’ll be benefited from this website.

  11. Hi, this weekend is fastidious for me, because this occasion i am reading this wonderful
    educational paragraph here at my residence.

  12. Great post! Your details are very helpful. Thanks for your work.

  13. I see you don’t monetize your website, don’t waste your traffic, you can earn extra bucks every month because you’ve got high quality content.
    If you want to know how to make extra money, search
    for: best adsense alternative Wrastain’s tools

  14. There are some fascinating time limits in this article however I don’t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There may be some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

Leave a comment